The kid talk ~ Newlywed Girl

I’m back and ready to blog about my next topic!

Last weekend the hubby and I went to a kiddie birthday party for his close friend’s daughter’s second birthday. When we arrived we realized we were one of two couples who were without child. It didnt’ feel awkward or anything, but we knew we were going to start getting the usual questions.

Sure enough…I don’t think nearly an hour passed by before we were asked when we were going to have little ones running around. My husband and I had decided before we got married that we were going to wait a number of years before starting a family. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with waiting a bit, since we are only just approaching our 1 year anniversary; its just others just don’t think the same way. There was the look of horror as my husband explains to his friends that we are not planning a family in the very near future.

I do hope that one day we do have our own little family. I just want us to enjoy our lives together before the new chapter starts. The funny part is that its not our parents who want to pressure us, its all of our friends!

What do you other newlyweds out there think? Have you experienced this as well? How do you respond?

Leave a comment

Filed under newlywed

Leave a Reply

