My favorite roasted chicken recipe ~ Newlywed Girl

I posted not too long ago about how cooking together really helps the foster the newlywed relationship. I’m sure lots of us newlyweds also got that Bride and Groom cookbook off their wedding registries as well.

I’m going to start sharing some of my personal, favorite, and easy to make recipes where both of you can participate. The one I’m going to offer today is my roasted chicken with potatoes and salad. Tastes like restaurant quality and you get some satisfaction that you made that yourself at home. The best thing I like about this recipe is that you don’t have to be precise and its relatively easy.

Ingredients

2 Roasting pans

1 1/2 lb whole roaster chicken

1 small lemon quartered

1 medium onion cubed

2-3 sprigs each of fresh Rosemary, Thyme, and Sage (Feel free to substitute with your preference or whatever you have at home), Reserve 1 sprig of rosemary for potatoes.

3 cloves chopped Garlic

2 Tbs Salt

2 Tbs Pepper

Olive Oil

8-10 small red skinned potatoes, or 2-3 russett potatoes

Small bag of salad mix – premade in bags

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Rinse the chicken and remove the giblets from the cavity
  3. Place chicken into a roaster pan
  4. Liberally apply olive oil to the inside and outside of the chicken
  5. Combine salt and pepper into a small bowl and use the salt and pepper to rub the inside and outside of the chicken
  6. Bend the herbs a little to release the oils
  7. Stuff the chicken with the lemon wedges, onion, thyme, rosemary, and sage (reserve one sprig of rosemary for potatoes)

Prepare Potatoes

  1. Rinse and scrub potatoes
  2. Chop potatoes into large cubes
  3. Remove the rosemary leaves and chop into small pieces
  4. Place potatoes in a separate roaster pan
  5. Apply olive oil liberally to the potatoes
  6. Stir in the chopped garlic, and rosemary
  7. Sprinkle on salt and pepper

Place both roaster pans into the oven at the same time. Check for doneness after 1 hour. Let the chicken rest about 5-10 minutes before cutting into it. Serve chicken and potatoes with a side of salad and your favorite glass of wine, and eat on your patio. Maybe even have a dish of ice cream to follow this delicious and easy recipe.

I recommend a nice chilled chardonnay for the summer, and a nice pinot noir for fall. If you need specific recommendations on wine – post your comments here! I love to eat and drink!

Enjoy!!!

3 Comments

Filed under cooking couples, newlywed, recipes

3 responses to “My favorite roasted chicken recipe ~ Newlywed Girl

  1. Jae

    I love this recipe thanks- I am going to try it tonight with my new wife- I am so excited- thanks for this- and thanks for posting about Mark Wahlberg and his daughter- that was nice to see a hands on dad

  2. Alexis

    Any great recipes for a date night in? We are trying to keep on a budget but feel like we are out for a meal? Any ideas how to keep it fun with desserts too?

  3. Gil

    Newlywed girl I am divorced and dating now with 3 kids and he has 1 – how do we have a date night that is festive – any decoration ideas when we have kid free weekends? Also- this chicken sounds fab but what about a picture? I would love to see what it looks like. I am not the best cook so I want to make sure it looks good when I am done.

Leave a Reply

