I was at Disneyland in Anaheim today and Heidi Klum and Seal were there yesterday coincidence? Also why gifts that give an experience are sometimes better than things

Heidi Klum and Seal and their kids were at Disneyland yesterday in Anaheim and I went with my B to Disneyland today. What do Heidi Klum and I have in common? Absolutely nothing except that we are both moms and work with flexible schedules. Anyhow, I thought it was funny that they went yesterday and rode on the tea cups and we did that today. I know and about 100,000 other people did the same thing also yesterday and today at Disneyland…but I like to believe we have that in common.

So…I took my B to Disneyland today with my parents who are visiting from out of town.

Main Reasons: My B loves Disneyland and the princesses and my siblings bought B the 1 year pass for her birthday and of course mommy a pass too so that I could take her for the next year anytime we had a few hours to spare during the week.

My siblings decided to buy her a birthday gift that was not a “thing” this year. They decided to buy her something that would give her experiences. I thought that was pretty thoughtful and clever. My one sister “A” who is very into not doing anything materialistic and constantly listening to NPR, going to the Hollywood Bowl, and reading The Week was the one who came up with the idea and everyone else agreed it would be great for B to have a present that she would have great memories about instead of a toy she would cast away in a matter of weeks.

How did the day go? It was great. B has lunch at Ariel’s Grotto and took pictures with the princesses, went on the tea cup ride, dumbo ride, and merry go round, and ate ice cream at the ice cream parlor. My parents also loved spending the time with her. Overall it was a great day. She loved it. She loved everything including taking her picture and getting the year pass in credit card form with her photo on the back like the Costco membership card. It was great.

This will be a birthday gift that will keep on giving throughout the year and I have to say one of the presents that she will remember for a very long time.

I highly recommend giving gifts to children that are experiences whether it be tickets to a movie, a concert, or a festival. These young people learn so much from their experiences and remember them every time they see the photos or remember the experience. It is definitely the way to go and I will start doing that a little more myself for family and friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

