Chillier Weather means SLOW COOKER time! ~ Newlywed Girl

Ahhh I love when the air starts to feel cooler and the sun is not as strong. I have to say that fall is my favorite season for that very reason. I am not a hot temperature weather person, even though I live in LA. I am completely not complaining about waking up to see the sun each day, but us Angelinos faced some fierce and hot days this summer.

Now that its cooler, its time for me to take out my slow cooker. I love this thing. There is something soo great about returning home from a long day of work or errands to smell the deliciousness coming from this small appliance. I have also noticed a surge in popularity for this electric product in homes. I have owned one for several years now, and recently my friends have started asking me about dishes that I create from the slow cooker and where they can get one for themselves. Whats old is new…again? I’m excited that the slow cooker is coming back in style! I’m an old soul…I know.

I personally have an All-Clad slow cooker that I purchased from Williams-Sonoma. The one that I bought was not this super fancy one that costs $300. I don’t know why they don’t carry the more economical version online anymore. Purchasing a slow cooker is a personal preference, any slow cooker will do. You can even get one at Target for about $30 without all the bells and whistles. I just prefer some bells and whistles for my personal cooker.

What do I like to make in my slow cooker?

I enjoy making soups, stews, rice porridge, baby back ribs, and roasts. I actually purchased a couple of slow cooker cook books so that I can figure out the timing on cooking various dishes.

This is a random post, but in the past I’ve shared recipes and date night menu suggestions; so I thought maybe readers out there might be interested in one of my favorite kitchen accessories. Maybe I might convince you also to own a slow cooker?? Its convenient, small amounts of preparation, and you can leave it alone while you go out.

Is anyone out there interested in some of my slow cooker recipes? Let me know and I’ll start posting a few here and there.

My next project is going to tackle the Pressure Cooker. I’m really scared of it, since I always have this image of things exploding in the kitchen because of the pressure building up.

3 Comments

Filed under newlywed

3 responses to “Chillier Weather means SLOW COOKER time! ~ Newlywed Girl

  1. Kristine

    I too am in the getting colder LA area and would love these recipes!

  2. Dirk

    Do you have a chili recipe?

  3. I think that the new, modern pressure cookers are a new mother’s best friend. I started using mine, a stove top model, when my son was 3 and he’s a teenager now.
    He loved lentil soup and I could make it from start to finish in about 20 minutes. I felt like the best mom in the world. I’ve been using it ever since for soups, stews, chili, braised vegetables and more.
    The new ones are quiet and safe and they don’t blow up. I hope that you’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

