Slow Cooker Rice Porridge Soup Recipe

I feel really trendy and cool all of a sudden. I just read the Wall Street Journal article “Luxury Consumers Scrimp for Sake Of Planet, and Because It’s Cheaper.” In this article there was a mention of how luxury consumers are now living on the cheap and swapping crock pot recipes, because of the state of the economy. As I mentioned in an earlier post about slow cookers, I promised to share some of my personal recipes with our P&W readers.

During the cooler months, I revert back to the simple homestyle foods that make me feel warm inside. One of my favorites growing up was a rice porridge soup that my mom would prepare using just a few ingredients, but the combination of these few ingredients would yield some tasty results. I hope that you find this recipe just as easy and can enjoy it like I have all these years. I added my own flair to it to give it more flavoring.

I have a pretty large slow cooker so if this recipe is too much liquid for yours, simply half this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 Rotisserie chicken from the market, cut up and save the cavity (if desired)
1 cup of long grain white rice or (1/2 c of long grain 1/2 c of sticky rice)
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 C of water
5 C of chicken broth

Seasoning and Toppings:
Soy Sauce
Sesame Oil
Chopped Green Onion
Salt and Pepper

Directions:

If you have time, soak the rice overnight in a bowl of water. When you are ready to prepared, rinse the rice thoroughly in a bowl until the water is clear. Add chicken pieces (cavity and all), rice, water, broth, salt into the slow cooker. Stir it a bit to submerge all of the ingredients.

Cook on the low setting for 8 hours or the high setting for 4 hours. The rice should get nice and soft and you’ll have a nice consistency like the photo below. If its not quite there yet, just let it go for another 1/2 hour to 1 hour until its ready.

Remove the chicken cavity and bones that may have separated from the chicken.

Serve the soup and chicken in large bowls with some of the suggested toppings.

ENJOY!

re_far066s

P.S. Not a fan of chicken bones in your soup? You can drop in some cooked seasoned chicken breast, pork or beef. I’d be a little wary of putting raw meat into the slow cooker for this type of soup.

Send me any feedback on this recipe. Did it work for you? Do you want some other types of recipes? I think next time I will post about roasts. Those are great for the holidays! Can you imagine getting a roast for your holiday meal ready with little to no attention during the cooking time?! Sounds lovely to me.

1 Comment

Filed under cooking, cooking couples, holiday topics, newlywed, picky eaters, recipes, stay at home moms

One response to “Slow Cooker Rice Porridge Soup Recipe

  1. Kchan

    I LOVE this too! Mmmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

