Our First Trip to Japan! ~ Newlywed Girl

I am so excited for our upcoming trip to Japan! Hubby and I have been planning this trip to Asia for over a year, and now its FINALLY here. In a few short days, we’ll be getting on a plane for the first leg of our trip to Hong Kong, followed by the grand finale trip to Japan.

In Japan we’ll be visiting Tokyo and Kyoto. I’m really looking forward to feasting on the cuisine, which has earned many many Michelin stars. Some of the food that I’m really looking forward to include: sushi, tempura, ramen noodles, Japanese style curry, fusion cuisine with Italian and French influences, and lots more food that I can’t think of at the moment. I feel like I’m my own Anthony Bourdain thinking about my food tours in Asia. I don’t know if we’ll get as adventurous as Bourdain, but we’ll certainly try most of the great choices in both cities.

sushi

One of the coolest experiences we’ll have in Japan will be our 3 day trip to Kyoto. We’re going to be staying in a traditional Ryokan Japanese Inn. We’ll be sleeping on the floor on tatami and everything! This is one of those unique must do experiences when visiting Japan. We’ll be doing the traditional kaiseki 7 course tasting meal served at the Inn, which is another experience in itself. The Ryokan owners pride themselves on their cuisine and I’ve heard that its quite a production. I’ll have to report back with photos!

For those of you who have been to Japan before, care to share some of your favorite sights? I would love to get any suggestions on food, things to see, or where I can find blowfish fugu??

Leave a comment

Filed under holiday topics, newlywed, newlywed blog, vacations

Leave a Reply

