Daily Archives: December 24, 2008

Christmas Prime Rib Roast ~ Newlywed Girl

Happy Holidays everyone! Every Christmas I try to make something a little fancier than my normal menu items for my family. I think they usually wait for me to plan and discuss my menu options and then we pick the star of the show. The last few years I’ve made pot roast, turkey and goose. This year is the fanciest year yet. I am going to attempt my first prime rib roast.

I purchased the prime rib from a local butcher who is famous for their prime rib. They dry age the beef for a couple of weeks so its like steakhouse quality. Lawry’s Prime Rib – eat your heart out!

You can try my recipe too if you’re interested. This feeds 8-10 people.

Ingredients

9-12 lb Prime Rib on the bone – should be about 4 bones

3 Carrots, peel and chopped into large chunks

2 Onions, chopped into chunked pieces

2 cups of water, add more if necessary

Horseradish for dipping

Herb Blend

1 1/2 tsp dried thyme

1 1/2 tsp dried rosemary

2 Tbs fresh ground pepper

2 Tbs salt

5 cloves of garlic, chopped finely

4 Tbs olive oil

2 15 oz cans of beef broth

1 cup red wine, cabernet or pinot noir

2 tsp butter

Preparation

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Prepare the spice rub in a small bowl to ready for the meat. Trim some of the fat off the prime rib. Rub olive oil on the meat and then take the spice rub and evenly spread around the meat.

Take a large roasting pan with rack. Add vegetables to the bottom of the rack and place the meat on top of the vegetables. Pour the water onto the vegetables.

Cook the meat at 450 degrees for 40 minutes. Turn the heat down to 275 degrees for another 1 1/2 to 2 hours until the internal temperature reaches 130. Check that the pan has enough water for au jus. add more if needed.

When it is ready, remove from the oven and cover and allow to rest before eating. Reserve 2 cups of drippings for au jus. Strain and defat the drippings into a pot and deglaze on the stove with the beef broth and red wine. Add the butter towards the end, and season with salt and pepper.

Carve tableside or onto a platter. Serve with the horseradish. I am also going to roast potatoes to go along with this great meat.

Happy Holidays!!

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, cooking couples, fine dining, holiday topics, mom, newlywed, recipes